[YST] Mozart and Shostakovich

April 5, 2016 @ 11:30 am – 1:30 pm
Theatres on the Bay
Singapore, 1 Esplanade Dr
Singapore 038981

MOZART Sinfonia Concertante for violin, viola and orchestra in E-flat major, K364 (320d)
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93

Qian Zhou, violin
Zhang Manchin, viola
Lan Shui, conductor

Join Singapore Symphony Orchestra Music Director, Lan Shui, as he conducts the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory Orchestra for the first time. Tonight’s programme features the delightful Sinfonia Concertante by Mozart, featuring faculty members Qian Zhou and Zhang Manchin as soloists. The orchestra will then perform Dmitri Shostakovich’s powerful, tragic and savage masterpiece: Symphony No. 10. Often referred to as Shostakovich’s “portrait of Stalin”, this is the first symphonic work written after the composer’s denunciation in 1948.